fb - voice of agriculture

American Farm Bureau Federation Golden Plow Award


American Farm Bureau Golden Plow AwardThe objectives of the Golden Plow award are to identify, select and award those members of Congress, regardless of their party affiliation, whose philosophies or records demonstrate their commitment to the private enterprise system; sound agricultural policies supported by Farm Bureau; fiscal conservatism; and reduced federal regulations on businesses and individuals.



Why “Golden Plow?”

The plow is the most generic symbol of agriculture available.

The Form of the Award

The award consists of a polished bronze replica of the John Deere Commemorative Plow, used as a part of that Company’s 150th anniversary celebration. The John Deere Company has granted their approval for our use of the symbol for the purpose of the award. The plow replica will be mounted on a finished hardwood base, 12” long, 2 1/2” high, 3 1/2” wide. A brass plate will be mounted on the front of the base, identifying the name of the award, the person receiving the award, the name of the American Farm Bureau Federation and the year.

Award Criteria

  • Nominations should be made based upon superior commitment to the enactment of Farm Bureau policy.
  • Ideally, nominees should have at least a 60 percent voting record with Farm Bureau.
  • One House award and one Senate award should be made without regard to party affiliation.
  • Repeat awards are permissible.
  • Award recipients shall receive approval from the state Farm Bureaus after tentative approval by the AFBF President. Nominations for the award will be submitted by the AFBF Public Policy Department staff, accompanied by justification.
  • The Board of Directors of the American Farm Bureau Federation shall annually make a final determination as to which members of Congress, if any, shall receive the award.
  • The award shall be presented in one of the following ways:
    • At the annual meeting of the Council of Presidents;
    • During the Public Policy Conference;
    • During a state Farm Bureau congressional visit; and
    • At the annual meeting of the American Farm Bureau Federation
  • The award shall be presented in person to the recipient by the President of the American Farm Bureau Federation or a designated officer or director.

Golden Plow Award
1988 to 2013



  Glenn “GT” Thompson (R-PA)
Mike Johanns (R-NE) Frank Lucas (R-OK)
  Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)
  John Shimkus (R-IL)
Jim Inhofe (R-OK)  
Max Baucus (D-MT) Tim Holden (D-PA)
Blanche Lincoln (D-AR) Kenny Hulshof (R-MO)
Saxby Chambliss (R-GA) Collin Peterson (D-MN)
Bill Frist (R-TN) Robin Hayes (R-NC)
Mitch McConnell (R-KY) Jerry Moran (R-KS)
Pete Domenici (R-NM) Richard Pombo (R-CA)
Jesse Helms (R-NC) J. Dennis Hastert (R-IL)
Larry Craig (R-ID) Jim Nussle (R-IA)
Larry Combest (R-TX)
Chuck Hagel (R-NE) George Nethercutt (R-WA)
John Ashcroft (R-MO) Charles Stenholm (D-TX)
Thad Cochran (R-MS) Dave Camp (R-MI)
Charles Grassley (R-IA) Gary Condit (D-CA)
Mitch McConnell (R-KY) Pat Roberts (R-KS)
Conrad Burns (R-MT) W.J. “Billy” Tauzin (R-LA)
Nancy Kassebaum (R-KS) Don Sundquist (R-TN)
Howell Heflin (D-AL) Jimmy Hayes (D-LA)
Don Nickles (R-OK) Charles Stenholm (D-TX)
Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Pete Domenici (R-NM)
Jerry Huckaby (D-LA)
Sonny Montgomery (D-MS)
Bob Stump (R-AZ)
Jerry Lewis (R-CA)
Fred Grandy (R-IA)
Tom Coleman (R-MO)
Jesse Helms (R-NC)
Strom Thurmond (R-SC)
David Boren (D-OK)
Alan Simpson (R-WY)
Charles Grassley (R-IA)
Bill Archer (R-TX)
Larry Craig (R-ID)
Tom Lewis (R-FL)
Lynn Martin (R-IL)
Bill McCollum (R-FL)
Bob McEwen (R-OH)
James Quillen (R-TN)
Bill Schuette (R-MI)
Joe Skeen (R-NM)
Robin Tallon (D-SC)
Vin Weber (R-MN) 1
Steve Symms (R-ID)
Christopher Bond (R-MO)
Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
David Pryor (D-AR)
Hank Brown (R-CO)
Larry Combest (R-TX)
Bill Emerson (R-MO)
William F. Goodling (R-PA)
Lee Hamilton (D-IN)
Ed Jenkins (D-GA)
John T. Myers (R-TN)
Jim Olin (D-VA)
Robert Smith (R-OR)
Gerald Solomon (R-NY)
Thomas Tauke (R-IA)
Lindsay Thomas (D-GA)
Robert Dole (R-KS)
Richard Lugar (R-IN)
Sam Nunn (D-GA)
William Armstrong (R-CO)
William Clinger (R-PA)
Kika de la Garza (D-TX)
Thomas S. Foley (D-WA)
Trent Lott (R-MS)
Ed Madigan (R-IL)
Ron Marlenee (R-MT)
Romano Mazzoli (D-KY)
Robert Michel (R-IL)
Leon Panetta (D-CA)
Pat Roberts (R-KS)
Virginia Smith (R-NE)
Charles Stenholm (D-TX)