fb - voice of agriculture

Foundation for Agriculture Presents Awards

HONOLULU, January 9, 2012 – Six state Farm Bureaus were recognized for outstanding financial support of the American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture.

The awards were presented during the Flapjack Fundraiser, a pancake breakfast at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s 93rd Annual Meeting.

State Farm Bureaus receiving the Scholar Award are: Alabama, Delaware, Florida, Indiana, Nebraska and South Dakota. The Scholar Award is given to the six state Farm Bureaus with the highest total donations within their membership groups. The Scholar Award is a “traveling” award.

Delaware Farm Bureau received the Award of Excellence. To qualify for this award, a state Farm Bureau and all of the county Farm Bureaus within the state must donate to the foundation.

In addition, 38 state Farm Bureaus received Apex Awards: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and West Virginia. The Apex Award is presented to state Farm Bureaus that have increased total investment in the foundation by 10 percent or more over the previous year.

“Like the apex of a plant, it is the generous contributions from individuals and families that nourish the foundation and fuel its mission of increasing agricultural literacy,” said AFBF President Bob Stallman.

During the event, Stallman challenged Farm Bureau members to make 2012 a record year for donations to the foundation.

“The donations from dedicated members like you help the foundation provide programs, curriculums and projects to achieve our mission of building awareness, understanding and a positive perception of agriculture through education,” Stallman said.


Contacts: Tracy Taylor Grondine
(202) 406-3642
Mace Thornton
(202) 406-3641