fb - voice of agriculture

Farm Bureau Elects Grassroots Leaders

NASHVILLE, Tenn., January 15, 2013 – Delegates newly elected three state Farm Bureau presidents to the AFBF board of directors at AFBF’s 94th Annual Meeting: Richard Bonanno of Massachusetts (Northeast Region), Jimmy Parnell of Alabama (Southern Region) and Don Shawcroft of Colorado (Western Region).

Fourteen other state Farm Bureau presidents were re-elected to represent their regions on the AFBF board of directors: Midwest Region – Craig Hill of Iowa, Kevin Paap of Minnesota, Don Villwock of Indiana and Wayne Wood of Michigan. Southern Region – Ronnie Anderson of Louisiana, Kenneth Dierschke of Texas, Zippy Duvall of Georgia, Mike Spradling of Oklahoma, Lacy Upchurch of Tennessee and Larry Wooten of North Carolina. Northeast Region – Dean Norton of New York and Carl Shaffer of Pennsylvania. Western Region – Perry Livingston of Wyoming and Paul Wenger of California.

Zach Hunnicutt, a crop farmer from Nebraska, was elected the new chairman of the AFBF Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee, which also makes him a member of the AFBF board of directors during his one-year term.

Terry Gilbert of Kentucky was re-elected to serve a two-year term as chair of the AFB Women’s Leadership Committee and on the AFBF board of directors. Vice-chair Sherry Saylor was re-elected to a two-year term on the committee. Sue Billiot of Arkansas, Marieta Hauser of Kansas, Vicki Malloy of Washington and Debbi Tanner of Connecticut were elected to two-year terms on the committee.

Farm Bureau members will gather for the 95th AFBF Annual Meeting, Jan. 12-15, 2014, in San Antonio, Texas.


Contacts:   Tracy Taylor Grondine
(202) 406-3642
  Mace Thornton
(202) 406-3641
  Media:   Photos