fb - voice of agriculture

American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee

Throughout the years, women have been strong and powerful leaders in agriculture, business, their communities and as entrepreneurs. Providing targeted ┬áprograms that enhance women’s leadership and communication skills, build on their passion, encourage women to work together and build networks that will benefit both individuals and our rural communities.

Women are compelling advocates for ┬ámodern agriculture both on and off the farm. The American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee (AFBWLC) works to highlight the important role of women in agriculture by engaging and encouraging Farm Bureau involvement from all women involved in agriculture. A variety of programs provide opportunities through conferences, partnerships, workshops and training.

The AFBWLC is comprised of a chair, vice chair and two representatives from each of the four AFBF regions. The national committee works closely with state Women’s Leadership committees and leaders to empower grassroots members to strengthen Farm Bureau and local communities. Members of all ages will find opportunities to become involved at the state and/or county Farm Bureau levels.

Each year, the AFBWLC develops a strategic program of work that assist in defining their goals based on the AFBF’s guiding principles. “Growing Strong” is the 2014-2015 program of work theme, and it highlights grassroots initiatives such as the year-long Our Food Link program that advocates the importance of agriculture with consumers of all ages. Other initiatives include enhancing women’s business planning skills, strengthening social media strategies and engaging in balanced community conversations about food.

The AFBWLC encourages all women in agriculture to become engaged leaders within their community and in Farm Bureau. Be sure to follow our blog and Twitter pages and like us on Facebook!

Committee Members

Chair: Sherry Saylor, Arizona
Vice Chair: Isabella Chism, Indiana

Midwest Region
Deb Walsh, Indiana
Marieta Hauser, Kansas

Northeast Region
Joan Myers, Pennsylvania
Debbi Tanner, Connecticut
Southern Region
Denise Hymel, Louisiana
Lorenda Overman, North Carolina

Western Region
Lillian Ostendorf, Montana
Carol Guthrie, Idaho