> News Release

Rep. Letlow Honored with Farm Bureau Golden Plow Award

AFBF Staff

photo credit: AFBF Photo, Mike Tomko

The American Farm Bureau Federation and Louisiana Farm Bureau today presented Rep. Julia Letlow (R-La.) with AFBF’s Golden Plow award. The Golden Plow is the highest honor the organization gives to sitting members of Congress.

“Congresswoman Letlow has demonstrated her commitment to agriculture from the minute she took office,” said AFBF President Zippy Duvall. “She has a passion for learning from her constituents about the diverse agriculture within her district. She has quickly become an ally to farmers in Louisiana and across the country, and understands the challenges and opportunities facing America’s farmers and ranchers.”

The Louisiana Farm Bureau nominated Letlow for the award in honor of her work in advocating for agriculture as a member of the House Appropriations Committee. She has played important roles in addressing issues like drought assistance, food labeling and feral swine eradication.

Louisiana Farm Bureau President Jim Harper said, “Congresswoman Julia Letlow has been a champion for agriculture from the first day of her campaign. She served with pride on the House Agriculture Committee and now uses her position on the House Appropriations Committee to ensure the programs farmers and ranchers depend upon are adequately funded. She has consistently voted with Louisiana agriculture front of mind. I’m honored to see my representative receive the Golden Plow award.”

AFBF’s Golden Plow award recognizes members of Congress who exemplify agricultural leadership and support of Farm Bureau policies. Recipients are chosen for having a philosophy or record that demonstrates a commitment to sound agricultural policies supported by Farm Bureau, the private enterprise system, fiscal conservatism and reduced federal regulation of businesses and individuals.

Press Contact

Mike Tomko
Director, Communications
(202) 406-3642

Bailey Corwine
Media Relations Specialist
(202) 406-3643