> News Release

State Farm Bureaus Honored for Excellence in Communications

AFBF Staff

photo credit: AFBF Photo, Philip Gerlach

The American Farm Bureau Federation’s 2024 Communications Award winners named at this year’s Communications Conference in Waco, Texas, include 16 standout states. The competition recognizes state Farm Bureau professionals from across the country for their exceptional work in communications.

Judged against states with similar membership sizes, Maryland, Montana, California and Illinois rose to the top, receiving the most awards overall. Participants could submit one entry per category, with 18 categories to choose from, in the areas of writing, print, media relations, social media, graphic design, video, audio and website. More than 200 entries for work produced in 2023 were submitted for the 2024 contest.

“Our state Farm Bureau communicators are dedicated to sharing the voices of farm and ranch families across the country,” said AFBF President Zippy Duvall. “The work of our communicators is second to none and I’m proud of them for continually evolving to keep pace with the rapidly changing communications field. Congratulations to the winning states and my thanks to all Farm Bureau communicators.”

Contest judges represent a cross section of communications professionals not affiliated with Farm Bureau. Awards were presented to Farm Bureau communicators in Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, New York, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Virgina and Wisconsin.

Each award is divided into groups based on membership size with up to three winners possible per category. The number of winners per category is based on the number of submissions received for the division. A list of award winners follows.

Anne Marie Moss Team Effort Award – recognizes outstanding collaboration on an issue that is a priority for AFBF; the farm bill is the issue for this year’s contest.

Virginia, for “Farm Bill Affects Us All,” a campaign highlighting the role the farm bill plays in the lives of all Americans – Tenille Nuckols, Burke Moeller, Kathy Dixon, Nicole Zema, Christina Amano Dolan

Texas, for promoting the farm bill though numerous media forms in a powerful and memorable way – Gary Joiner, Julie Tomascik, Ed Wolff, Shelby Shank, Emmy Powell, Tom Nicolette

Best Agriculture Story

Montana – Rebecca Colnar

California – Caleb Hampton

Alabama – Marlee Jackson

Best Single Blog Item, Editorial or Column

California – Amrith Gunasekara

Illinois – Sierra Henry, Richard Guebert Jr.

Best Newspaper or E-Newsletter

Maryland – Jeb Burchick

California – Christine Souza, Ching Lee, Caleb Hampton, Peter Hecht

Illinois – Daniel Grant, Kay Shipman, Tammie Sloup, Timothy Eggert, Erin Henkel, Catrina Rawson, Nicole Dowling, Jenny Gentes, Deana Stroisch, Nan Fannin

Best Magazine

Montana – Rebecca Colnar, Bobbi Burow

California – Barbara Arciero, Linda DuBois, Paula Erath, Caleb Hampton, Ching Lee, Christine Souza

Tennessee – Lee Maddox, Amy Beckham, Stacey Warner, Jessy Yancey, Thomas Capps, Misty McNeese

Best Member/Leader Newsletter

Kansas – Sheridan Wimmer

Alabama – Maggie Edwards

Best Graphic Design

Montana – Sue Ann Streufert, Nicole Rolf, Rachel Cone

Missouri – Rebecca Hoelscher

Illinois – Melissa Rhode, Donny Skelton, Ryan Ford, Dan Schlipmann, Donna Gallivan, Stephanie Knittel

Best Audio News Story, Feature Story or Commentary/Editorial

New York – Steve Ammerman, Seth Moser-Katz

Arkansas – Chad Hooten

Best Video News Story

New York – Seth Moser-Katz

California – Aubrey Aquino

Alabama – Mary Wilson, Matt Wilson, Kevin Worthington

Best Video Feature Story

California – Aubrey Aquino, Hadrian Santos, Evan Christensen

Kentucky – Matthew Hilton, Austin Anderson, Michael Corrigan

Best Promotional or Education Video or Ad

Wisconsin – Amy Eckelberg, Cassie Sonnentag

Illinois – Seth Leverenz, Scott Anderson, Mack Klingbeil, Mark Pressburger

Best Website

Wisconsin – Cassie Sonnentag, Rachel LaCount, Amy Eckelberg, Lynn Siekmann

Illinois – Gracie Pierson

Best Social Media Video

Maryland – Jeb Burchick, Parker Welch

Oklahoma – Dustin Mielke

Texas – Shelby Shank, Pedro Rosas

Best Social Media Campaign

Colorado – Luke Munchrath, Melissa Weaver

Wisconsin – Cassie Sonnentag, Rachel LaCount

Texas – Julie Tomascik, Angela Lujan, Emmy Powell, Shelby Shank, Ed Wolff, Pedro Rosas, Penny Cox

Best Social Media Presence

Maryland – Jeb Burchick

California – Christina Apkarian, Connor Duncan, Alex Eickmann, Darren Lee

Illinois – Gracie Pierson

Best Media Relations Event

Oklahoma – Dustin Mielke, Rachel Havens

Best Public Relations Campaign

Oklahoma – Dustin Mielke, Rachel Havens

Illinois – Gracie Pierson, Sierra Henry, DeAnne Bloomberg

Best Unique Tactic or Execution

Kansas – Meagan Cramer, Leigh Ann Maurath, Sheridan Wimmer

Alabama – Mary Wilson, Marlee Jackson, Laura Unger

Press Contact

Mike Tomko
Director, Communications
(202) 406-3642

Bailey Corwine
Media Relations Specialist
(202) 406-3643