Impact of COVID-19 on Agriculture

2017 White-Reinhardt Educator Scholarships Encourage and Promote Agricultural Literacy

Newsroom / March 24, 2017

The American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture has recognized 11 educators – teachers and classroom volunteers – for their exceptional efforts to encourage agricultural literacy. Those recognized will each receive $1,500 scholarships to attend the National Agriculture in the Classroom Conference in Kansas City, Missouri, June 20-23. The Foundation, through the White-Reinhardt Fund for Education, sponsors the scholarships in cooperation with the American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee.

This year’s recipients are: Dawn Alexander, Tom McCall Elementary, Redmond, Oregon; Kaylee Borcherding, Pineview Elementary, Latimer, Iowa; Eric Brooks, Belgrade Central School, Sidney, Maine; Shari Davis, Community Lutheran School, Tripoli, Iowa; Will Elliott, East Robertson High School, Goodlettsville, Tennessee; Sarah Glenn, Huntsville Intermediate School, Elkins, Arkansas; Kathy Guse, Farm Camp Minnesota, Janesville, Minnesota; Zena Lewis, Owasso 6th Grade Center (Owasso Public Schools), Owasso, Oklahoma; Andy Roach, McFadden School of Excellence, Cane Ridge, Tennessee; Tracey Tumaniec, Manz Elementary, Eau Claire, Wisconsin; and John Turrietta, Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary School, Rio Rancho, New Mexico.

The conference helps educators from across the nation learn how to incorporate real-life agricultural applications into science, social studies, language arts, math and nutrition lessons. Scholarship recipients were judged on past use of innovative programs to educate students about agriculture as well as plans to implement information gained at the AITC conference in their own lesson plans and share the information with other teacher and volunteer educators.

The AITC conference brings together a diverse group of organizations and speakers to showcase their successful programs, address how to improve agricultural education and literacy and offer educational materials. The Agriculture Department coordinates the AITC program with the goal of helping students gain a greater awareness of the role of agriculture in the economy and society.

The American Farm Bureau Federation and state Farm Bureaus also support and participate in the program’s efforts. The White-Reinhardt Fund for Education honors two former American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee chairwomen, Berta White and Linda Reinhardt, who were leaders in early national efforts to educate about agriculture and improve agricultural literacy.

Cyndie Shearing
Director, Communications
(202) 406-3649

  Return to Newsroom

Share This Article