Impact of COVID-19 on Agriculture

Farm Bureau Announces Final Four Teams in Ag Innovation Challenge

Newsroom / December 6, 2018

The American Farm Bureau Federation, in partnership with Farm Credit, has announced the final four teams in the 2019 Farm Bureau Ag Innovation Challenge.

“It’s an honor to recognize these four outstanding rural businesses for advancing in the Ag Innovation Challenge,” said AFBF President Zippy Duvall. “Starting rural businesses takes faith, courage and creativity. We wish all of these entrepreneurs well as they continue striving to take their food and agriculture businesses to the next level.”

The four finalist teams were awarded $15,000 each. They are:

     AgHelp Corp., Belding, Michigan. Team lead: Feliciano Paredes

     Elite OviGen Inc., Beverly Hills, Florida. Team lead: Anette Skoog

     FarmlandFinder, Ames, Iowa. Team lead: Steven Brockshus

     Glean LLC, Farmville, North Carolina. Team lead: Laura Hearn

The final four teams (selected from the 10 semi-finalist teams) have all expenses paid to compete in a live pitch competition at AFBF’s 100th Annual Convention in New Orleans on Jan. 13. The final four teams will compete to win:

  • Farm Bureau Rural Entrepreneur of the Year award and $15,000 (chosen by judges), for a total of $30,000
  • People’s Choice award and $10,000 (chosen by public vote), for a total of $25,000

Startup funds for the 2019 Ag Innovation Challenge are provided by sponsors Farm Credit, John Deere, Bayer Crop Science, Country Financial, Farm Bureau Financial Services and Farm Bureau Bank. The competition provides an opportunity for individuals to showcase ideas and business innovations in agriculture. This is the fifth year of the Challenge, which is the first national business competition focused exclusively on rural entrepreneurs launching food and agriculture businesses.

Shiloh Perry
Media Relations Specialist
(202) 406-3643
Cyndie Shearing
Director, Communications
(202) 406-3649

  Return to Newsroom

Share This Article