Impact of COVID-19 on Agriculture

Farm Bureau Recognizes Communications Boot Camp Graduates

Newsroom / July 26, 2018

The American Farm Bureau Federation recognized 15 farm and ranch women leaders as graduates of the organization’s 12th annual Women’s Communications Boot Camp. The intensive three-day course completed by the agricultural leaders comprised hands-on sessions on public speaking, working with the media and messaging.  

“It’s gratifying to see the increased confidence of these women leaders as they sharpen their skills for sharing messages about agriculture,” said Sherry Saylor, an Arizona row crop farmer and chair of the AFB Women’s Leadership Committee. “Boot Camp graduates are persuasive and effective in connecting with influencers at the local, state and national levels,” she added.

This year’s Boot Camp graduates are: Connie Hass, Colorado; Chyla Wilson, Idaho; Krista Swanson, Illinois; Patty Lange Fischer, Indiana; Michele Simoneaux, Louisiana; Cyndi Johnson, Montana; Elaine Moore, New Hampshire; Casey Spradley, New Mexico; Johanna Fox-Bossard, New York; Lorenda Overman, North Carolina; Lee Rankin, North Carolina; Victoria Flowers, Oregon; Colbie Niswander, Tennessee; Laura Purtle, Tennessee; Sherrie Lou Tate, Utah; and Tammy Wiedenbeck, Wisconsin.

The American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee, in partnership with AFBF staff, hosts and provides training for the Women’s Communications Boot Camp. This the 12th year of the program, which has more than 180 graduates and is open to all women involved in Farm Bureau. An application process is used to select the participants.

Photos from this event may be downloaded at:

   Credit: AFBF   

Row 1: Colbie Niswander, Tennessee; Casey Spradley, New Mexico; Johanna Fox-Bossard, New York; Elaine Moore, New Hampshire; Michele Simoneaux, Louisiana; Lorenda Overman, North Carolina (member, AFB Women’s Committe).

Row 2: Tammy Wiedenbeck, Wisconsin; Laura Purtle, Tennessee; Chyla Wilson, Idaho; Cyndi Johnson, Montana; Sherry Saylor, Arizona (chair, AFB Women’s Committee).

Row 3: Lee Rankin, North Carolina; Connie Hass, Colorado; Krista Swanson, Illinois; Victoria Flowers, Oregon; Sherrie Lou Tate, Utah; Patty Lange Fischer, Indiana.

Shiloh Perry
Media Relations Specialist
(202) 406-3643
Cyndie Shearing
Director, Communications
(202) 406-3649

  Return to Newsroom

Share This Article