Impact of COVID-19 on Agriculture

2020 Farm Bureau Farm Dog of the Year Contest

The winner of the 2020 Farm Bureau Farm Dog of the Year award is Flint, an Australian shepherd owned by Utah Farm Bureau members Rhett and Beth Crandall. The American Farm Bureau Federation, with support from Nestlé Purina, recognized Flint, four runners-up and a People’s Choice Pup at AFBF’s 101st Annual Convention.

People’s Choice Pup 

Runner-up Sue was also named People’s Choice Pup in a social media contest with online voting as part of the overall competition. Sue won bragging rights, and a $50 gift card and Purina products.

Credit: Nestlé Purina   

Sue, owned by Alabama Farmers Federation members Phil and Kim Slay   Credit: Slay family photo   

Farm dogs lighten the workload and enrich our lives by providing faithful and playful companionship.
—  Zippy Duvall, AFBF President


One grand prize winner – Farm Dog of the Year – and up to four runners-up will be announced in January. The grand prize winner will be featured on American Farm Bureau and Purina websites and social media platforms. The prizes below will be awarded.

Grand Prize Winner

  • One year’s worth of Purina dry dog food
  • Recognition as the 2020 Farm Bureau Farm Dog of the Year
  • $5,000 in prize money for the farmer and his or her spouse/family to offset travel costs to attend an awards ceremony at the American Farm Bureau Federation Annual Convention in Austin, Texas, Jan. 17-22, 2020.


  • Up to four (4) runners-up will each receive $1,000 in prize money.

Nestlé Purina

Nestlé Purina promotes responsible pet care, community involvement and the positive bond between people and their pets. A premiere global manufacturer of pet products, Nestlé Purina is part of Swiss-based Nestle S.A., a global leader in nutrition, health and wellness.

American Farm Bureau Federation

The American Farm Bureau is committed to working through our grassroots organizations to enhance and strengthen the lives of rural Americans and to build strong, prosperous agricultural communities.


Send an email to with questions about the contest.

Share This Article