> News Release

Foundation for Agriculture Announces 15th ‘Book of the Year’

Mike Tomko

Director, Communications

photo credit: AFBF

The American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture presented its 15th “Book of the Year” award to author Kiki Thorpe for “How to Grow a Monster.” The award was presented at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s 103rd Convention.

“How to Grow a Monster” explores the makers theme of gardening and includes a gardening-related activity for young makers to try themselves. Tapping into the popular makers movement (hands-on learning), the book is part of a series of fun, easy-to-read stories that focus on problem-solving and hands-on action.

Thorpe has written more than 40 books for young readers. She is the New York Times-bestselling author of “The Never Girls” chapter book series, which has been published in 25 countries. Thorpe grew up in Boise, Idaho, and finds inspiration for many of her stories in memories of her childhood there. She lives with her family in Colorado.

“It’s such an honor to have my book recognized by the American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture. I hope ‘How to Grow a Monster’ inspires young readers to try growing their own food,” Thorpe said.

The “Book of the Year” award springs from the Foundation’s effort to identify “Accurate Ag Books,” a collection of nearly 500 books for children, teenagers and adults that accurately cover agricultural topics. Book of the Year selections are educational, help to create positive public perceptions about agriculture, inspire readers to learn more and touch their readers’ lives as well as tell the farmer’s story. The Accurate Ag Books database is available at http://www.agfoundation.org/recommended-pubs.

To accompany “How to Grow a Monster,” the Foundation has created an educator’s guide (available on Jan. 10).

Financial Support of the Foundation
Several state Farm Bureaus were recognized at convention for exemplary financial support of the Foundation.

State Farm Bureaus receiving the Scholar Award are Georgia, Illinois, Maryland, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The Scholar Award is given to the six state Farm Bureaus with the highest total donations to the Foundation within their membership groups.

Twenty-two state Farm Bureaus qualified for an Apex Award: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming. The Apex Award is given to state Farm Bureaus that have increased total contributions to the Foundation by 10% or more over the previous year.

Thirty-one state Farm Bureaus qualified for the Leader Award: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming. State Farm Bureaus are recognized with a Leader Award when each of their board members donates at least $50 to the Foundation.

Press Contact

Mike Tomko
Director, Communications
(202) 406-3642

Bailey Corwine
Media Relations Specialist
(202) 406-3643